Q and A with Elizabeth Britza

I got together with Elizabeth Britza, published independent student writer, to talk about her writing experiences.

  1. How long have you been writing for?
    I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. There hasn’t been a moment or time in my life that I haven’t been writing. But I’ve been taking it seriously since around year 8 in school; so I would have been around 13 when I saw it as a career pathway.
  2. Have you been published? What was it like?
    I have, I was published through a writing competition called WriteAsRain. It felt amazing to see my work, along with other students from the competition, printed in a book. It was a great moment for me to see something I’d worked so hard on published and in print. It really made me strive to see it again.
  3. You independently publish your short stories online, why do you do that?
    I opened my blog to showcase my work. I’ve always been worried I wasn’t good enough as a writer, but online publishing has made me realised that people are enjoying reading my work. I did it for me, but it has also motivated me further to keep writing.
  4. How much of what you actually write do other people see?
    There is a lot that people haven’t seen! Either what is on my blog or print published is really all the outer-world has seen. Hopefully somewhere in the near future, though, people will be able to see a lot more of it.
  5. What is your “process” for writing?
    This is a hard one. I get inspiration from everywhere really. So my process is to find a story, from anything, and then get all of it out on paper. Sort of like a brainstorm of the story, and then I start writing. I let the story tell its story through me.
  6. Do you have any wisdom for people who are discouraged about their own writing?
    Keep writing! Don’t get disheartened, never think you’re not good enough, because you are! Everyone has a story to tell and someone will always want to read it.
  7. What is your proudest writing moment?
    Starting my blog and seeing the reception it got in only a short time. I was nervous about publishing and sharing my work with the world, but the positive reception was great. I felt really proud of myself.
  8. What are your writing plans for the future?
    The big plan is to publish my own novel, but the short time is to keep writing on my blog. See where that takes me.
  9. What’s the best way to get back into writing after being away for a while?
    Just to do it. That may sound hard, but to do something well everyone needs practice. Everyone can get a little rusty after a long break, but all you need to do is shake out those cob-webs and write. Eventually the magic will come back.
  10. Why do you write?
    Writing for me is freeing, so I would say I write to feel free. I can write about anything and everything. I can make and destroy worlds if I feel like it. It’s freeing and rewarding to see something you’ve invented finished.

Elizabeth writes short stories on her blog, and you should check out her inspired, thoughtful pieces here.

Leave a Reply

